ibnlive » Politics

May 17, 2009 at 06:04pm IST

150 new lawmakers accused of breaking law

New Delhi: Every fourth lawmaker in the newly elected fifteenth Lok Sabha is accused of breaking the law and has cases filed against them in law courts.

As many as 150 MPs have at least one case filed against them, according to affidavits filed by them before elections. Seventy-three of these 150 MPs are accused of serious offences.

Eight of the new MPs face at least 10 cases each. These include Congress MP Radadiya Vitthalbhai Hansrajbhai (Porbandar), JD(S) leader N Chaluvarayswamy (Mandya), BJD's Tathagata Satpathy (Dhenkanal), Shiv Sena's Chandrakant Khaire (Aurangabad), NCP's Udyanraje Pratapsinhmaharaj Bhonsle (Satara), CPM's P Karunakaran (Kasaragod), BJP's Ramakant

FOR THE RECORD: Number of MPs accused in court cases increases in new Lok Sabha.

Yadav (Azamgarh) and SP's Bal Kumar Patel (Mirzapur).

Those with five or more cases include BJP's Feroze Varun Gandhi (Pilibhit), Congress' Sanjay Nirupam (Mumbai North), BJP's C R Patil (Navasari), Trinamool Congress' Tapas Paul (Krishnagar), Congress MP N Dharam Singh (Bidar) and Congress MP Rajkumari Ratna Singh (Pratapgarh).

Other prominent winners with legal cases against them include Kirti Azad, Gopinath Munde, Lalu Prasad and Aditya Nath.

In 2004, there were 128 MPs with criminal cases.