Olympics: AIBA rejects protest against boxer Vikas Krishan's ouster

Press Trust of India
Aug 05, 2012 at 07:26am IST

Michelin - Drivers Wanted
You are just a Click away from
Driving a Racing Car in Sepang!

London: India's bid to overturn the controversial ouster of 69kg boxing medal hope Vikas Krishan from the Olympics came to a nought on Saturday when the world governing body for the game rejected their appeal in London.

Stung by Vikas' ejection from the Olympics despite winning his pre-quarterfinal bout against Errol Spence of United States after a review, the Indian boxing officials filed a protest with AIBA, that was thrown out.

"The appeal has been rejected and we cannot do anything now," a source in the Indian contingent said.

AIBA rejects protest against Vikas's ouster

Vikas Krishan was ousted from the Games in London after AIBA overturned the result of the bout he had won, following a review.

The appeal was filed after an emergency meeting of the team with Chef-de-Mission and Indian Boxing Federation Secretary General PK Muralidharan Raja.

In a stunning turn of events, Vikas was ousted from the Games in London after AIBA overturned the result of the bout he had won, following a review.

The 20-year-old had won 13-11 over Spence in a thrilling contest last night but following an appeal by his rival's team management, the AIBA awarded the bout 15-13 to the American citing the fouls committed by the Indian which were not noticed by the referee.

While agreeing, Vikas had gone into a clinch with his rival, the Indians have claimed that the American was equally guilty of the same offence.

National coach Gurbax Singh Sandhu said the Indians will challenge the observations made by the competition jury, which felt that Vikas should have been penalised four points for holding his rival nine times and deliberately spitting out his gumshield during the bout.

"...our guy did not hold Spence for more than seven times. The American was guilty of holding Vikas four times according to us. As for spitting the gumshield, that may or may not be considered because the referee had failed to spot it during the bout," Sandhu said.

Latest