ibnlive » India

Dec 16, 2011 at 11:45pm IST

Anna Hazare named CNN-IBN 'Indian Of The Year 2011'

New Delhi: Social activist Anna Hazare was named CNN-IBN 'Indian Of The Year' for the year 2011 for bringing the grave issue of corruption to the forefront in the country.

"I don't have any money in the bank but I have taken six cabinet wickets. Bring Lokpal by December 22, I will call off fast. Government has nothing to fear from me, it should only fear the public," Anna Hazare said after receiving the award.

CNN-IBN on Friday presented 'Indian Of The Year' awards in different categories to the people whose contribution in the year 2011 have strengthened the foundation of our society and have helped build Brand India in the process.

India's Milkman Verghese Kurien was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement award. While receiving the award to a standing ovation, he said that integrity is crucial for success.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, while winning the IOTY Politics Awrad, reiterated that she had no intention of rocking the UPA boat.

She said that the government will last long if there is no price rise. "Not my intention to withdraw. Government must do job for the people. Government should not be toppled but please see that price rise is not increased," she said.

Binalakshmi Nepram, writer-activist and founder of Manipur Women Gun Survivors Network, was awarded the IOTY public service award.

"When I came to Delhi people called me 'chinki', they asked me where are you from, Thailand or Nepal? This award is a testimony that some Indians are different from the ones living in Delhi and Bombay. There are lot of amrs and blood shed there but we won't get scared, we will move on. Our determination to get peace is more than theirs for bloodshed," Nepram said.

For redefining the political discourse of the country, anti-corruption crusader Anna Hazare and his Team got 'Indian Of The Year' award in Public Service.

Singer KJ Yesudas was honoured with a Special Achievement award at the Indian of the year ceremony. And while taking the honour he shared a light moment before crooning a song.

Indian cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the unanimous choice for the Indian of the Year in Sports.

Amitabh Bachchan and team KBC were presented with the Indian of the year Entertainment award.

All-rounder Yuvraj Singh, who has been battling a lung tumour, was felicitated with a special award for his spirit of perseverance. Shooter RS Sodhi was also felicitated with Special Achievement award.

Dilip S Shanghvi of Sun Pharma got the award in the Business category.