ibnlive » Movies

Jun 30, 2012 at 06:55pm IST

'Artist' actor Jean Dujardin is Academy of Motion Picture member now

Los Angeles: The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 176 acclaimed names in movie industry, including actors Matthew McConaughey, Jessica Chastain and Jonah Hill as new members.

A number of the 2012 Academy Awards winners and nominees also received the prestigious invitations. They include 'The Artist' director Michel Hazanavicius and its leading cast members Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo, 'Bridesmaids' actress Melissa McCarthy, 'The Help' star Octavia Spencer and 'Albert Nobbs' actress Janet McTeer.

Meanwhile, Kristen Wiig and his "Bridesmaids" co-writer have been invited for the writers branch, 'The Tree of Life' helmer Terrence Malick is up for the directors branch and George Clooney's producing partner in 'The Ides of March',

'Artist' actor Jean Dujardin is AMPAS member now

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has finalised 176 acclaimed names in movie industry as new members.

Grant Heslov, has been welcomed for the producers branch.

"These film professionals represent some of the most talented, most passionate contributors to our industry. I'm glad to recognize that by calling each of them a fellow Academy member," said Academy President Tom Sherak.

"It is progress. Fourteen per cent is up from last year. You have to have the qualifications to get in. It's not easy to find especially in the age groups we are talking about, which are naturally older. So I'm happy it went up, but what

we have to ensure is that the people who get in deserve to be in the academy. That's decided by the branches, not the academy," he added.

The new members will be welcomed at an invitation-only ceremony, which is scheduled to be held in September.