ibnlive » Politics » News

Ayodhya: questions before the High Court

Sep 30, 2010 at 11:41am IST

New Delhi: As Uttar Pradesh turns into a fortress ahead of the Ramjanmabhoomi-Babri Masjid title suit verdict, at 3.30pm on Thursday, the nation's eyes will be fixed on Justices Sibghat Ullah Khan, Sudhir Agarwal and Dharam Veer Sharma as they pronounce the verdict on the decades-old Ayodhya row.

Here is what are the questions before the judges:

ALSO SEE Ayodhya verdict: the long wait ends today

Whether the building has been constructed on the site of an alleged Hindu temple after demolishing the same. If so, its effect?

Ayodhya: questions before the High Court

The judges will explore if the structure was built on the site of a temple after demolishing the same.

Whether the building in question, described as a mosque, was a mosque as claimed by the plaintiffs?

ALSO SEE IBN special: What does Ayodhya want?

Whether the building stood dedicated to almighty God as alleged by the plaintiffs?

Whether the building had been used by members of the Muslim community for offering prayers since time immemorial?

ALSO SEE Ayodhya verdict: Bollywood appeals for peace

Whether the idols and objects of worship were placed inside - or were in existence even earlier?

Have the Hindus been worshipping the place in dispute as Sri Ram Janmabhoomi and visiting it as a sacred place of pilgrimage as a (matter of) right since time immemorial?

ALSO SEE High alert as India gears up for Ayodhya verdict

Know the judges

Justice Sibghat Ullah Khan, is a science graduate from Aligarh Muslim University in 1971. He completed his LLB from Aligarh Muslim University and has been with the Allahabad High Court for the past 25 years and became a permanent judge in 2002.

Justice Sudhir Agarwal is a science graduate from Agra University, who completed his law studies from Meerut in 1980. He became a permanent judge in October 2007.

Justice Dharam Veer Sharma is the oldest member of the bench. He received his LLB in 1970 and became a permanent judge in 2007.

So, despite Justice Sharma being the senior-most in age, he happens to be the junior-most in the seniority list. But that is inconsequential as all judges are equal on the Bench.

While Justice Khan will reach the age of retirement on January 30, 2014, Justice Agarwal will retire on April 23, 2020.

Previous Comments


More from this section

PREVIOUS  NCP defends Patil, says can't blame him

NEXT  Scope for talks with Pakistan: Krishna