ibnlive » Politics » News

BJP announces core team; Modi returns to Board, Shivraj Singh left out

Bhupendra Chaubey, Sumit Pande, CNN-IBN
Apr 01, 2013 at 08:32am IST

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday announced its new Parliamentary Board and as speculated, Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi was reinducted into the panel after a gap of six years. Among the other new members, who were appointed in the board, were Pilibhit MP Varun Gandhi and Modi's close aide and former Gujarat home minister Amit Shah. The appointment is a shot in the arm for Modi, who is expected to play a big role in the next Lok Sabha elections after his three years of consecutive victory in Gujarat polls. Shah's appointment, however, was opposed by a faction of the party.

Among the new Vice Presidents appointed in the board are - Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Smriti Irani and Prabhat Jha. Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan, however, did not find a place in BJP's Parliamentary Board. Modi is the only serving Chief Minister who has been appointed in the board.

ALSO SEE Pass Karnataka polls exam first: Cong to new BJP team

Smriti Irani, however, was happy with Modi's induction and said, "Workers enthused after Modi's induction in BJP Board." She was also delighted with her elevation in the panel and thanked party president Rajnath Singh. Uma Bharti, who is also among the newly-appointed Vice Presidents of the party, thanked Rajnath Singh, Advani and Gadkari.

Meanwhile, senior BJP leader Vinay Katiyar criticised the induction of Varun Gandhi into the board. "His (Varun Gandhi) biggest credential is his surname. Gandhi magic works in BJP as well," he said. Former Karnataka chief minister and BJP leader Sadananda Gowda, however, sounded optimistic about the new team. He also hinted at Modi taking over as the prime minister if the BJP comes to power in the next Lok Sabha elections. "This time NDA will form the government and Narendra Modi will lead it," he said. He also said that his party would win the upcoming Karnataka polls. "Modi will campaign in Karnataka and the BJP will win with full majority," Gowda added.

ALSO SEE No competition within BJP for PM's post: Advani

Addressing a press conference in the national capital after the new BJP Parliamentary Board was announced, party spokesperson Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said "the new team is perfect and balanced". "This team will unfurl the flag of victory for BJP in the next Lok Sabha elections," he added.

Before announcing his new team, BJP chief Rajnath Singh had met senior party leader LK Advani, who continues to be a part of the party's Central Parliamentary Board.

ALSO SEE BJP should project Modi in Lok Sabha polls: Ramdev

Among the new faces in the team are Uma Bharti, Amit Shah and Varun Gandhi and among those who have been dropped include Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Yashwant Sinha, Najma Heptulla, Hema Malini and Shanta Kumar as Vice Presidents and Vasundhara Raje as General Secretary.

While Prakash Javadekar, Shahnawaz Hussain and Nirmala Sitharaman will continue as party spokespersons, the new additions are Vijay Sonkar Shashtri, Sudhanshu Trivedi, Meenakshi Lekhi and Capt Abhimanyu.

Rajnath Singh's new team has now 12 Vice Presidents, 10 General Secretaries, 15 Secretaries and seven spokespersons, besides a 12-member Central Parliamentary Board, a 19-member Central Election Committee and a five-member Central Disciplinary Committee.

Following is the list of BJP's new Parliamentary Board:

BJP General Secretaries:

Ananth Kumar

Thawarchand Gehlot

JP Naddha

Dharmendra Pradhan

Tapir Gaon

Amit Shah

Varun Gandhi

Rajeev Pratap Rudy

Murlidhar Rao

Ramlal (GS Org)

BJP Central Parliamentary Board:

Rajnath Singh (President)

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Lal Krishna Advani

Dr Murli Manohar Joshi

M Venkeya Naidu

Nitin Gadkari

Sushma Swaraj

Arun Jaitely

Narendra Modi

Ananth Kumar

Thawarchand Gehlot

Ramlal (GS Org)

Vice Presidents:

Sadananda Gauda

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi

Dr CP Thakur

Jual Urao

SS Ahluwalia

Balbir Punj

Satpal Malik

Prabhat Jha

Uma Bharti

Bijyo Chakravarti

Lakxmikanta Chawla

Kiran Maheshwari

Smriti Irani


Shyam Jaju

Bhupendra Yadav

Krishna Das

Dr Anil Jain

Vinod Pandey

Trivendra Rawat

Rameshwar Chaurasiya

Aarti Mehra

Renu Kushwaha

Sudha Yadav

Sudha Malaiya

Poonam Mahajan

Luies Marandi

Dr Tamil Isai

Sushree Vani Tripathi

Central Election Committee:

Rajnath Singh (President)

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Lal Krishna Advani

Dr Murli Manohar Joshi

M Venkeya Naidu

Nitin Gadkari

Sushma Swaraj

Arun Jaitely

Narendra Modi

Ananth Kumar

Thawarchand Gehlot

Ramlal (GS Org)

Gopinath Mundey

Jual Oran

Sayyeb Shahnawaj Hussain

Vinay Katiyar

JP Nadda

Dr Harshwardhan

Saroj Pandey (Ex-Officio)

Central Disciplinary Committee:

Radha Mohan Singh (President)

Jagdeesh Mukhi (Secretary)

L Ganeshan (Member)

Hari Babu (Member)

Shyam Nandan Singh (Member)

Joint General Secretaries (Org):

V Satish

Soudan Singh


Piyush Goyel

Headquarter Incharge:

OP Kohli


Prakash Jawdekar

Shaha Nawaj Hussain

Nirmla Sitaraman

Vijay Sonkar Shashtri

Dr Sudhanshu Trivedi

Meenakshi Lekhi

Capt Abhimanyu

Presidents of Morchas:

Mahila Morcha - Saroj Pandey

Yuva Morcha - Anurag Thakur

SC Morcha - Dr Sanjay Paswan

ST Morcha - Faggan Singh Kulaste

Minority Morcha - Abdul rashid

Kisan Morcha - Om Prakash Dhankar

(With additional information from PTI)

Previous Comments


More from this section