Oct 17, 2008 at 02:21am IST

Network 18 gives out CJ Awards

New Delhi: It was an emotional Thursday evening at the CNN-IBN Citizen Journalist Awards which honoured men and women who have highlighted serious issues from civic woes to government inaction.

Three years ago Network18 encouraged citizens to do 'Whatever it Takes', to 'Be the Change' they want to see. Following which CJs launched the social renaissance of the 21st century. To honour their spirit Network 18 honoured the CJ's with Citizen Journalist Awards which salutes the indomitable spirit of the Citizen Journalist.

Chief guest at the occasion Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit felicitated 22 CJs for their fearless reporting under seven categories - Special CJ, CJ Fight Back, Save Your City, Green CJ, Be The Change, Best Videos and Best Images.

CJ Tulika Verma was declared the CJ Fight Back winner for her fight for a pediatric ward in a Delhi hospital. The award for Save The Society went to CJ Vimla Devi who raised her voice for public utility in Delhi slums.

CNN-IBN's Editor-in-Chief Rajdeep Sardesai was quoted as saying, "Citizen Journalism engages the viewer in public life and encourages them to be proactive. It also transforms news into an interactive and multilateral process."

"Citizen Journalist Awards rewards the best citizen journalists who have made an impact with their effort to find truth," he added.

Other Be The Change Awards were given to CJ Sameer Mehta for his efforts to free the left lane campaign in Hyderabad and to CJ Philip Macwan for planting trees in Ahmedabad.

While CJ Katie Bagli was honoured with the Green CJ Award for saving the trees of a Mumbai park, the CJ Be The Change Award for using eco-friendly material to build hanging bridges in South India went to Girish Bhardwaj.

Another CJ awarded at the event was Rajendra Jauharfor his work along with actor Rahul Bose who took home the Eminent Citizen Jounralist Award.


Managing Editor IBN7, Ashutosh was quoted as saying, "Citizen Journalism is one of the best examples of citizen empowerment. It brings viewers to report the problem exactly in the manner they see it."

The editorial heads of Network18 picked the nominations for different categories before the final decision by the jury was taken.

The members of the jury included eminent personalities like Kiran Bedi, Prasoon Joshi, Madhu Trehan, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra, Nandita Das, Neelam Krishnamoorthy and Arvind Kejriwal.

Previous Comments