ibnlive » India

May 28, 2012 at 11:08pm IST

Class 12 results to count; IITs, NITs to have one JEE

New Delhi: Starting 2013, students appearing for the country's most prestigious engineering institutes will face a whole new system – class 12 board exam results will be taken into account along with a two-tier joint entrance examination.

There is mixed reaction to the move so far. While some think this will shut out commercially run tuition colleges that are unavailable to the poor and in rural areas, others worry the burden on students just got more difficult to bear.

Under the new structure decided by Union HRD Minister Kapil Sibal and the IIT council, the IIT entrance exam will be split into two parts – main and advanced. Also, class 12 board exam marks will be given 50 per cent weightage.

Sibal said the selection of the candidates for the IITs and other central institutes would be different even as all the aspirants will have to go through all the steps under new format. This system will replace the IIT-JEE and AIEEE.

Students will sit for a main test and an advance test conducted on the same day.

For admission to all the centrally funded institutes, there would be 40 percentage weightage for performance in Class XII (after normalisation of marks), 30 per cent weightage to performance in main and 30 per cent in the advanced test.

In case of IITs, there would be a filtering process involved. The board results and the main test will be given 50 per cent weightage each. Only the top 50,000 students will be selected for the advance test after taking into account their performance in the board results and the main result.

"The merit only in advanced examination will be considered for admission" to the IITs, Sibal said, adding that the IIT council has agreed to move to the other system by 2015.

According to career experts, the formula has its flaws.

After several rounds of discussions since February 2010, all the IIT directors have finally agreed to the minister's proposals. Even as Sibal implements these changes in 2013, all efforts will now be to ensure that all state governments too come on board as soon as possible.

There are 15 Indian Institutes of Technology while there are 27 NITs and 4 IIITs. They are as under:

IIT – 15

IIT Delhi

IIT Kanpur

IIT Powai

IIT Kharagpur

IIT Chennai

IIT Guwahati

IIT Roorkee

IIT Rajasthan

IIT Gandhinagar

IIT Patna

IIT Hyderabad

IIT Ropar

IIT Mandi

IIT Bhubaneswar

IIT Indore

NIT – 27

NIT Calicut

NIT Srinagar

NIT Allahabad

NIT Durgapur

NIT Nagpur

NIT Surthakal

NIT Warangal

NIT Jaipur

NIT Rourkela

NIT Bhopal

NIT Tiruchirapalli

NIT Kurukshetra

NIT Silchar

NIT Hamirpur

NIT Patna

NIT Raipur

NIT Agartala

NIT Sikkim

NIT Arunachal Pradesh

NIT Meghalaya

NIT Nagaland

NIT Manipur

NIT Mizoram

NIT Uttarakhand


NIT Delhi

NIT Puducherry

IIIT – 4

IIIT Gwalior

IIIT Jabalpur

IIIT Kanchipuram

IIIT Allahabad

(List of institutes taken from the website of the Human Resource Development Ministry)

(With Additional Inputs from PTI)