The collision incident between pacer Cheema and batsman Mahmudullah took place during the Asia Cup final.
Dhaka: The two-run loss in the Asia Cup final at the hands of Pakistan hasn't gone down well with the country's cricket board (BCB) as it has decided to complain about the last over collision incident between pacer Aizaz Cheema and its batsman Mahmudullah Riyad.
The complaint will be lodged to the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) as the BCB is of the opinion that Cheema had deliberately blocked Mahmudullah when he tried to come back for a run.
Chasing 237 for a win, Bangladesh needed a four off the final delivery of the 50th over.
"We have seen the video footage of the incident repeatedly and it is clear that Cheema blocked Mahmudullah deliberately," Enayet Hossain Siraj, the chairman of the BCB cricket operations committee, told reporters here.
"We will lodge a written appeal with the ACC very soon and will also give a copy [of it] to the ICC," he added.
The ICC rules state that if a player is found to have blocked his rival deliberately while completing a run, the batting side is awarded five penalty runs and if a run-out has happened during the course, it is not given.
But whether the blocking was done deliberately is decided by the on-field officials, and as reported by the BCB, umpire Steve Davis was seen having a word with both the players. The ball yielded a single in the match.
"It is clearly written that it will be a dead ball if the batsman faces an obstacle while running by a bowler or fielder. The batting side will get a five-run penalty," Siraj said.
"In that case, we would have required only four runs off six balls. We have the footage which clearly shows that the bowler in question created an obstacle to [Mahmudullah] Riyad."
Bangladesh needed nine runs at the start of the 50th over. Had Pakistan been penalised then, Bangladesh's chase might have been become a little easier.
(With inputs from PTI)