ibnlive » Cricketnext

Cheteshwar Pujara in India's Asia Cup squad, Yuvraj Singh back for World T20

Cricketnext Staff
Feb 11, 2014 at 03:10pm IST

Ishant Sharma's nine-wicket haul in the Auckland Test couldn't undo his poor limited-overs form as the selectors on Tuesday decided to drop the under-performing pacer from both the Asia Cup and World Twenty20 squads, while calling up Cheteshwar Pujara to the ODI fold and giving Yuvraj Singh a fresh lease of life by naming him in the World Twenty20 side.

The Senior Selection Committee met on the sidelines of the Irani Cup in Bengaluru earlier on Tuesday to pick the two squads. Both the tournaments will be hosted by Bangladesh.

Also out of the Asia Cup is Suresh Raina, who too has failed to come out of his lean patch for the past six months. Raina's loss proved to be Pujara's gain, as the Saurashtra batsman has been knocking at the ODI door for quite some time.

Pujara gets Asia Cup call-up, Yuvraj in for World T20

No room for Ishant Sharma in both the squads, while Raina gets picked only for the World T20. Binny in both squads.

Allrounder Stuart Binny, who made his ODI debut during the ongoing tour of New Zealand, remains in the selectors long-term plan and has been picked for both the squads. Also featuring in the selectors plans is Ishwar Pandey, who will be travelling for the Asia Cup.

Amit Mishra also features in both the squads but will hope to play a few games back in the subcontinent after warming the bench in South Africa and New Zealand; however, he remains the third option in the spin department that will be led by R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

Varun Aaron didn't impress much on his return from a long injury layoff, but still finds his name in the touring party for both the tournaments. The young fast-bowling unit otherwise has the familiar look in the form of Mohammad Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, with Mohit Sharma offered a comeback at World T20.

Other than Pujara's admission, Raina's exclusion and Yuvraj's comeback, the core of the batting unit remains the same with Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni and Ajinkya Rahane. Ambati Rayudu features only in the Asia Cup squad.

Asia Cup Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Varun Aaron, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, Ishwar Pandey

ICC World T20 squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma, Varun Aaron


More from this section

Bleacher Report