ibnlive » Cricketnext

Jul 02, 2011 at 10:36pm IST

Dhawan to lead in Emerging Players tour

Chennai: Left-handed batsman Shikhar Dhawan will lead a 15-member Indian squad at the Emerging Players cricket tournament, scheduled to be held in Australia from August 1-13.

Top-order batsman Ajinkya Rahane has been named Dhawan's deputy for the 13-day tournament by the Krishnamachari Srikkanth-led BCCI's five-man selection committee here on Saturday.

Srikkanth Anirudh, Manish Pandey, Saurabh Tiwary, Manoj Tiwary and Ambati Rayudu will shoulder the bulk of the responsibility in batting, besides all-rounder Ashok Menaria, while C Gautam has been selected as one of the wicketkeepers along with Rayudu.

Dhawan to lead team in Emerging Players tour

Shikhar Dhawan will lead in the tournament to be held in Australia from August 1-13.

Leg-spinner Rahul Sharma will lead the spin attack along with slow left-armer Iqbal Abdulla, while Umesh Yadav, R Vinay Kumar, Varun Aaron and Sreenath Aravind will be the four seamers.

India will kick off the campaign with a match against South Africa's Emerging Players team on the first day of the tournament, before meeting New Zealand (Aug 6-8) and Australian Institute of Sports (AIS) from 11-13.

India had triumphed in 2009 after Virat Kohli led the team to a 17-run win over South Africa with a rollicking century, but lost to AIS in the deciding match of the last edition.

Squad: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Srikkanth Anirudh, Manish Pandey, Saurabh Tiwary, Manoj Tiwary, Ashok Maneria, C Gautam, Ambati Rayudu, Rahul Sharma, Iqbal Abdulla, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Sreenath Aravind, R Vinay Kumar.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0