MS Dhoni declined to call Bairstow back after the England batsman was caught by Gambhir at silly point despite the ball hitting his helmet first before he completed the catch.
Mumbai: MS Dhoni might have recalled Ian Bell after a bizarre dismissal in the Trent Bridge Test when India toured England last year, but when the similar situation arose following Jonny Bairstow's dismissal on Monday, then the India skipper denied it straight away, saying it's an umpire’s job to take such decisions.
"Is it only my job to recall everybody or will the umpires also do something? Dhoni said when the subject brought to his notice after the Mumbai Test. "[On many occasions], there are replays that show the batsman is lbw. Why can’t the opposition say, ‘no my batsman is out, you come back?’ Umpires get handsome payments, they are supposed to take some [correct] decisions,” Dhoni added.
Bairstow was caught by Gautam Gambhir at silly point when a Pragyan Ojha delivery took an edge from the batsman's bat, hit the grill of Gambhir's helmet before going into his hands. The on-field umpires Aleem Dar and Tony Hill didn't take notice of that, neither did the batsman, who walked off as soon as Gambhir snatched the catch and lunch was taken.
According to law 32.3, "The act of making the catch shall start from the time when the ball in flight comes into contact with some part of a fielder's person other than a protective helmet, and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control both over the ball and over his own movement..." It further adds, "...However, it is not a fair catch if the ball has previously touched a protective helmet worn by a fielder. The ball will then remain in play."
England team director Andy Flower was said to have requested Dhoni during the lunch break to give Bairstow a reprieve but the Indian skipper refused to give his consent.