Adelaide: The India-Sri Lanka clash in Adelaide which witnessed the 26th tie in the history of one-day (ODI) cricket had its fair share of thrills and frills, which also included a five-ball over bowled by ace Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga.
The 30th over bowled by Malinga was prematurely ended by Aussie umpire Simon Fry standing in his 3rd ODI with Gautam Gambhir and India skipper MS Dhoni at the crease.
This was not the first instance that a five-ball over has been bowled in a limited overs international but in the context of the nail-biting finish the question that was bound to come up was: Did the loss of a delivery deny the Indians a possible victory?
The 30th over bowled by Lasith Malinga was prematurely ended by umpire Simon Fry.
"It's done and dusted with. We can create a big fuss out of it but what's the point? It's like a controversy standing right on the edge... just about to happen. What's the point as it's a controversy which is right there and we don't really want to get into anything like that... Hopefully, it won't be repeated, not only with us but not even with any other side," Dhoni said.
"As I said, we have seen in the past. We have bowled an over and we almost changed sides but the third umpire intervened and said, 'Ok you have to bowl one more ball in this particular over', but it did not happen in this game. I don't know why? Nothing can be done right now," the Indian skipper said.
Former Indian spinner Maninder Singh had his own take on the issue.
"There were 20 overs to be bowled after the incident and a lot of time for India to win the match," Maninder told CNN-IBN.
" I am surprised that no one noticed it. The leg umpire is counting the balls and TV umpire has a scorer alongside him and these days with so much competition even the batsmen are counting the balls," he said.
(With Agency inputs)