ibnlive » Cricketnext

Dilshan to captain SL on Zimbabwe tour

May 20, 2010 at 07:45pm IST

Colombo: Sri Lanka have named Tillkaratne Dilshan as captain after deciding to rest several senior players for their tri-series in Zimbabwe in June.

Normal captain Kumar Sangakkara, vice-captain Muttiah Muralitharan, former captain Mahela Jayawardene and fast bowler Lasith Malinga were all rested for the three-nation tournament.

All-rounder Angelo Mathews, 22, has been appointed as Dilshan's deputy as Sri Lanka seek to trial young players ahead of the 2011 World Cup. India will also take part in the tri-series.

Dilshan to captain Sri Lanka on Zimbabwe tour

All-rounder Angelo Mathews, 22, has been appointed as Dilshan's deputy.

Leg spinning all rounder Jeewan Mendis and batsman Dines Chandimal are the uncapped players in the squad.

Squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Capt), Angelo Mathews (Vice-Captain), Upul Tharanga, Thilan Samaraweera, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Ajantha Mendis, Jeewan Mendis, Dilhara Fernando, Chamara Silva, Thisera Perera


More from this section

PREVIOUS  Few players were busy ogling girls in Aus: Afridi

NEXT  Dhoni is one of the best skippers: Murali