ibnlive » Cricketnext

Feb 26, 2012 at 07:36pm IST

'Lee had no business to obstruct Sachin'

Sydney: A major controversy erupted in the tri-series match between India and Australia at the SCG, with Sachin Tendulkar being dismissed in a debatable run out and visiting captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni lashing out at pacer Brett Lee for standing on the way of the batsman.

The action unfolded after the final delivery of the seventh over bowled by Lee in India's run at the venue of the infamous '2008 monkeygate scandal'.

Gautam Gambhir called for a single to which Tendulkar responded only to be run out by David Warner. Lee was seen standing in Tendulkar's way after running across the pitch while the Indian was sprinting towards the crease.

'Lee had no business to obstruct Sachin'

The action unfolded after the final delivery of the seventh over bowled by Brett Lee.

Tendulkar threw his arms up in frustration when the ball hit the stumps, making it clear that he wasn't happy with Lee blocking his way, but umpires Simon Taufel (at square leg) and Billy Bowden ruled against the batsman after some deliberation.

Dhoni at the post-match press conference was unsparing on Lee, saying the Australian pacer had no business to stand on way of Tendulkar.

"I don't think that you can justify that Lee was going towards the point fielder. I don't think he had real business to go over there and to decide to stand just in front of Tendulkar. That means he (Tendulkar) will have to take a longer way across. That is my reading of that particular run out," Dhoni said.

"Tendulkar was disappointed that he was given out despite the bowler (Lee) standing on his way," he added.

Dhoni also slammed the umpiring standard, saying that the two debatable decision should have gone in India's favour.

Australian batsman David Hussey was not given out despite obstructing the field and Sachin Tendulkar was made to run-out by the Australian fielders.

"David [Hussey] was really lucky. He should have been given out. But it's not in my hands. In his judgement he might have been protecting himself but his hands were too far ahead of him," Dhoni said.

"Just like in soccer, if your hands are popping out, you get a penalty irrespective of what's happening. When we were touring in Pakistan, Inzy [Inzamam-ul-Haq] defended himself on his face with his bat and was given out.

"I don't know why he wasn't given out. There should be a hardline [by umpires]. Umpires said even if it was an Indian batsman, I would have given him not out.

"There are lots of ifs and buts. Umpires are coming in for two or three games. I may have a view in one game, and a different umpire in the next match would have another. You could be at the receiving ends twice," Dhoni said.

Referring to Tendulkar's dismissal, Dhoni said: "In Brisbane in the first game [against Australia last week] Vinay was bowling. We had a slip and no midwicket. The ball went to the point fielder. Vinay crossed over the pitch and coming towards midwicket in a brisk pace for the [point] fielder to have a shy at the stumps. Umpires said [to Vinay] you are not allowed to do that. But he was doing something which was well within the laws of the game."

"I personally thought it was a bit unjustified for Tendulkar. He had to take that extra yards. Billy [Bowden] should have said something, he was in a position to see where exactly the bowler was and where he stopped because it was very difficult for Simon [Taufel] to take a call because he had no clue which angle the batsman was running and where Lee actually stopped."

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Latest