Islamadad: The Pakistan Cricket Board said Sunday it was disappointed with Bangladeshi claims that fast bowler Aizaz Cheema deliberately blocked batsman Mahmudullah during the Asia Cup final on Thursday.
Intikhab Alam, head of a PCB committee, said neither the match referee nor the umpires raised the issue with Pakistan team management after the match.
"It is sad and disappointing that Bangladesh have raised the issue," Alam told The Associated Press.
Alam, head of a PCB committee, said neither the match referee nor the umpires raised the issue.
"It was such a thrilling final and it is ridiculous that Bangladesh have raised this issue after 48 hours."
Bangladesh Cricket Board official Enayet Hossain Siraj claimed "it is clear (from the video footage) that Cheema blocked Mahmudullah deliberately" during the first ball of the 50th over as the batsman tried to come back for a second run.
Bangladesh lost the final by two runs as Cheema conceded six runs in the last over.
Siraj reportedly said that Bangladesh will lodge a written complain to the Asian Cricket Council and will also send a copy to the International Cricket Council.
According to the rules, Bangladesh could have been awarded five penalty runs. At the time, Australian umpire Steve Davis spoke to Cheema soon after the bowler collided with Mahmudullah but did not signal any penalty runs.
"It's the prerogative of the umpires, but in this case the umpire did not signal any penalty runs," Alam said.