ibnlive » Cricketnext

Jan 29, 2014 at 06:18pm IST

Ranji Trophy Final, Day 1: as it happened

High on confidence following their fairytale run this season, underdogs Maharashtra would be eyeing to break their 72-year title jinx when they take on favourites Karanataka in the summit clash of the Ranji Trophy.

Maharashtra won the Ranji Trophy twice but both the titles came in the pre-Independence era in 1939-40 and 1940-41.

ALSO SEE Maharashtra aim to end 72-year title drought

It will be a real test for the Kedar Jadhavs and the Vijay Zols as they take on the seasoned campaigners like R Vinay Kumar and Abhimanyu Mithun while bowlers like Samad Fallah and Anupam Sanklecha will face hard-hitting opener Robin Uthappa, the solid Lokesh Rahul and dependable Karun Nair.

Ranji Trophy Final, Day 1: as it happened

A file photo of Maharashtra batsman Vijay Zol. (PTI Photo)

Live Blog

Live coverage

(Content below is refreshed only when page is reloaded.)

9:36 am: Ranji Trophy 2013-14 FinalKarnataka vs Maharashtra (Day 5)Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, HyderabadBRIEF SCORES:Maharashtra First Innings: 305 all out (Khurana 64, Bawne 89, Atitkar 50; Mithun 3/49, Aravind 3/65) Karnataka First Innings: 515 all out (Rahul 131, Satish 117; Munde 3/90, Fallah 3/93)Maharashtra Second Innings: 366 all out (Jadhav 112, Mundhe 42; Gopal 4/47, Vinay 4/116)Karnataka Fourth Innings 157/3RESULT Karnataka defeat Maharashtra by 7 wickets to win the Ranji Trophy title.

3:47 pm: Friends, this is it from me for today. Thanks for being with us. For latest updates and coverage please visit cricketnext.com . Take care. Bye. :)

3:46 pm: So friends, congratulations for the victory. Karnataka fans...enjoy a lot. Well played Maharashtra.

3:41 pm: Captains who've lead Karnataka to Ranji title: 1 & 2. EAS Prasanna, 3. Brijesh Patel, 4. A Kumble, 5. R Dravid, 6. S Joshi, 7. VINAY KUMAR.

3:40 pm: Superb display by Karnataka batsmen and the bowlers too. A magnificent victory for them. They have won Ranji title for the seventh time.

3:38 pm: Congrats....

3:38 pm: Well done team Karnataka great show

3:38 pm: Well done team Karnataka great show

3:36 pm: Leading run-getters in this RanjiTrophy 2013/14 season: K Jadhav 1223 L Rahul 1033 H Khadiwale 1004 S Tiwary 854 F Fazal 845 H Vihari 841 Y Takawale 839

3:35 pm: The wait for 15 years has finally ended - Karnataka have won the Ranji Trophy!! Euphoric moment!! #RanjiTrophy

3:35 pm: Karnataka's Ranji Trophy title wins - Total 7 now:1973/74 1977/78 1982/83 1995/96 1997/98 1998/99 2013/14

3:34 pm: Karnataka win Ranji Trophy by 7 wickets. Great show, congrats and well done!

3:34 pm: @Baliga: yeah

3:34 pm: Karnataka has won Ranji Championship 2013-14

3:34 pm: Karnataka defeat Maharashtra by 7 wickets to win the Ranji Trophy title

3:33 pm: KK Nair seals the victory with a SIX off Khurana.

3:20 pm: Back to back boundaries for Manish Pandey off Samad Fallah. Karnataka 141/3, need 16 runs to win the trophy.

3:09 pm: Karnataka 129/3, need 28 runs to win. KK Nair 5*, Manish Pandey 15*

2:59 pm: Karnataka 126/3, need 31 runs to win

2:40 pm: Mah any hw fighting like warriors..grt to see

2:28 pm: It is TEA here. Karnataka 120/3, need 37 runs to win.

2:28 pm: @chethanbnmech@gmail.com: Karnataka 120/3, need 37 runs to win.

2:28 pm: @vinay: Karnataka 120/3, need 37 runs to win.

2:28 pm: score plz

2:28 pm: score..

2:25 pm: WICKET!! Amit Verma departs for 38 runs. Amit Verma c & b Khurana 38 (49b) A spectacular catch by Khurana. Karnataka 120/3, need 37 runs to win.

2:20 pm: @hemanth: Karnataka 110/2, need 47 runs to win.

2:20 pm: @manu: Karnataka 110/2, need 47 runs to win.

2:20 pm: @vinay: Karnataka 110/2, need 47 runs to win.

2:20 pm: Karnataka 110/2, need 47 runs to win.

2:19 pm: score plz

2:19 pm: score.....

2:17 pm: score pls

2:15 pm: @vinay: 37 overs.

2:14 pm: how many overs are left

2:06 pm: @vinay77362@yahoo.com: Karnataka 100 for 2

2:06 pm: score plz

2:06 pm: 100 comes up for Karnataka. They need just 57 runs to win. Amit Verma 28* and Manish Pandey 3* are batting.

2:05 pm: score pls

1:57 pm: WICKET!! KL Rahul departs for 29 runs. KL Rahul c Khurana b Mundhe 29 (66b)

1:53 pm: Karnataka 87/1, need 70 runs to win. Amit Verma 18* and KL Rahul 29*

1:51 pm: Score plz

1:51 pm: Score pls

1:34 pm: @howmuchscore: Karnataka 70/1, need 87 runs to win

1:34 pm: Good show by both teams with No stars on either side. Hope some of these guys will work hard to get into the national side. People await freshness in the national side, especially the pace bowlers

  • 1
  • 0
  • 5