ibnlive » Cricketnext

Sep 04, 2012 at 11:40pm IST

Trott ruled out of final ODI against SA

London: England's Jonathan Trott has been ruled out of the fifth and final one-day international against South Africa in Nottingham on Wednesday because of a hand injury.

The South Africa-born batsman was hit on the right hand by a short ball from South Africa's paceman Dale Steyn during England's six-wicket victory at Lord's on Sunday, a result that put them 2-1 up in the five-match series, but was cleared of any "major fracture" after an X-ray on Monday.

He took no part in Tuesday's practice, however, and the England and Wales Cricket Board confirmed later Tuesday he would not play in the series finale.

Trott ruled out of final ODI against SA

He was hit on the right hand by a short ball from Dale Steyn during England's six-wicket victory at Lord's on Sunday.

Somerset batsman Jos Buttler was called into the squad as cover on Monday, but Jonathan Bairstow is a more likely candidate to play his first match of the series.

Meanwhile England coach Andy Flower will miss Wednesday's match as well.

Flower is taking a short break to spend some time with his family, before England continue their packed schedule with three Twenty20s against South Africa -- and then fly to Sri Lanka to defend their ICC World Twenty20 crown.

England fielding coach Richard Halsall will deputise for former Zimbabwe batsman Flower in Nottingham.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Latest