Quick Links

    News

    Umpiring faux pas gives Hussey a life

    A comedy of errors left the Indians peeved, and allowed Michael Hussey to push on to a brisk half-century.

    Mad scenes unfolded during the 29th over of Australia's innings. Michael Hussey, batting on 1, missed a ball from Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni collected and disturbed the stumps. As the decision went upstairs to the third umpire, Bruce Oxenford, replays showed that Hussey had dragged his back foot back and part of his boot was behind the crease, which meant he was safe.

    Incredibly, the giant screen flashed a big 'OUT' and Hussey began his dejected walk back while the Indians celebrated. Suddenly one of the on-field umpires, Billy Bowden, ran after him and tapped his arm to tell him there had been a mistake in the match officials' cabin.

    Smiles ensued between a sheepish Hussey and the umpires but Dhoni was not amused. He had words with the on-field umpires, who would have told him that Oxenford had pressed the wrong button. How this could have happened considering there are only two buttons for the third umpire to press, with clear markings of OUT and NOT OUT under the red and green buttons, was inexplicable. A comedy of errors left the Indians peeved, and allowed Hussey to push on to a brisk half-century.