ibnlive » Politics

May 16, 2009 at 09:09pm IST

Verdict '09: Rogue politicians' wives lose

Patna: Four prominent criminal-turned-politicians of Bihar were barred from this Lok Sabha contest by courts. They put up their wives instead. But the voters firmly rejected them, as all four women lost the elections.

Jailed Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) MP Mohammad Shahabuddin's wife Heena Sahab, contesting from Siwan, was defeated by an independent candidate Om Prakash Yadav.

Ranjeeta Ranjan, the wife of Pappu Yadav, was defeated by Janata Dal-United's (JD-U) Vishwa Mohan Kumar in Supaul.

KARMA REVISTED: The voters firmly rejected the wives of criminal politicians.

A sitting MP from Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), Ranjan had switched parties before the polls and joined the Congress, which gave her the party ticket from Supaul.

Veena Devi, wife of LJP MP Surajbhan Singh, was defeated by Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Bhola Singh in Nawada constituency.

Congress nominee Lovely Anand, wife of former JD-U MP Anand Mohan and a former lawmaker herself, was defeated by BJP's Rama Devi in Sheohar constituency.

Pappu Yadav had also fielded his mother Shanti Priya, who lost in Purnia to BJP's Uday Singh. Shanti Priya contested as an independent with the support of the Congress.

The four are among a dozen politicians, including MPs and legislators, who have been convicted and sentenced by fast track courts in Bihar after 2005, thus becoming ineligible to contest.

Anyone convicted for a crime and sentenced to more than a two-year-long jail term cannot fight elections until six years after completion of the sentence.