Oct 16, 2013 at 10:06am IST

Delhi: 219 FIRs against parties for poll code violations, AAP tops the list

New Delhi: With just weeks to go before the Delhi assembly elections, 219 FIRs have been registered against various political parties for alleged violations of the model code of conduct in New Delhi. The FIRs have been registered since October 4, when the model code came into effect with the announcement of the election schedule.

The Aam Admi Party tops the list and has 79 FIRs registered against it, followed by 56 cases against the BJP and 53 against the Congress.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission will work out modalities with parties in poll-bound Delhi for a single window system on instructions for enforcing the Model Code of Conduct in the wake of complaints of lack of uniformity. The entire Delhi Cabinet led by Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit along with State Congress chief JP Agarwal on Tuesday met Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath and two Election Commissioners HS Brahma and Nasim Zaidi and demanded clarity and uniformity in instructions on the Model Code in Delhi.

The Commission has decided that Deputy Election Commissioner and incharge of Delhi polls Vinod Zutshi will hold a meeting of all political parties in Delhi on October 18 and bring about a single window system on EC instructions. Dikshit had complained that there was duplicity in instructions with various departments issuing different rules for enforcement of the model code ahead of elections.

The Chief Minister along with all her six ministers held an over 90-minute meeting with top poll officials and explained to them about the duplicity of instructions on enforcement of Model Code and called for the need for uniformity in EC directions.

The BJP and Aam Aadmi Party have also called for uniformity in EC instructions alleging that their workers were being harassed in the name of implementing the model code.

Delhi goes to polls on December 4 to elect its 70-member state assembly and the poll process in the state would kickstart on November 9 with the issue of the gazette notification and start of nominations. Counting will take place on December 8. A total of 1.15 crore voters in the national capital are expected to exercise their franchise on December 4.

(With additional information from PTI)