ibnlive » Politics

Dec 10, 2013 at 10:33am IST

Delhi: BJP leads in 6 Lok Sabha seats, AAP one and Congress zero

New Delhi: The seat difference between the BJP and the AAP is just four in the recently held Delhi Assembly elections. The BJP has won 32 and the AAP 28 while the Congress has been reduced to singe digits with juts eight in its bag.

But the BJP is miles ahead of the AAP in terms of Lok Sabha seats. If we add the votes polled for the BJP, the AAP and the Congress in each Lok Sabha seat, the BJP is leading in 6 of the total 7 Lok Sabha seats in Delhi.

The AAP is leading in just one Lok Sabha seat. The Congress which swept the last Lok Sabha polls by winning all 7 seats is not leading in even a single seat.

Delhi: BJP leads in 6 LS seats, AAP 1, Congress 0

The AAP is leading only in New Delhi Lok Sabha seat currently held by senior Congress leader Ajay Maken.

Each Lok Sabha seat in Delhi has 10 Assembly seats.

Many BJP candidates have won by a big margin when compared to the AAP, whose candidates except a few have won by a very small margin.

In the prestigious East Delhi Lok Sabha seat currently held by the outgoing chief minister Sheila Dikshit's son Sandeep Dikshit, the BJP is ahead of both the AAP and Congress. The BJP has got 3,62,013 votes, the AAP has got 3,15,262 votes and the Congress has got 3,28,050 votes.

Even though the AAP has won 5 out of 10 seats in East Delhi, it's total vote share is lesser than the votes the BJP and the Congress got.

The reason being AAP's winning margin is lesser than the margin of BJP and Congress. The BJP won three and the Congress two seats respectively.

The AAP is leading only in New Delhi Lok Sabha seat currently held by senior Congress leader Ajay Maken. The AAP has got 3,42,260 votes. The BJP come second with 3,00,181 votes while the Congress is third with just 2,15,097 votes. The AAP has won a record 7 seats in this Lok Sabha constituency. The remaining 3 seats have gone to the BJP.

The BJP is leading in North-West Delhi seat currently held by Union minister Krishna Tirath. The BJP is also leading in North-East Delhi, South Delhi, West Delhi and Chandni Chowk. Chandni Chowk is currently held by high profile Union minister Kapil Sibal. Here the BJP polled 2,93,080 votes and the Congress 2,69,397 votes.

The Congress heavy weights of Delhi, who are now holding important positions at the Centre have a reason to worry in the coming Lok Sabha elections.

The AAP, which is close behind, can hope to win by fielding strong candidates in all 7 Lok Sabha seats.