ibnlive » Politics » News

technology partner
in association with

Dec 06, 2012 at 10:43am IST

FDI in retail: Who voted for whom

New Delhi: UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi was modest. After the win in Lok Sabha in the vote on FDI in multi-brand retail, the Congress President described her joy in minimal words. "I am happy about the win... not worried about Rajya Sabha," was all she said. On Wednesday evening, BJP leader Sushma Swaraj's motion opposing the government's FDI decision was moved and the UPA managed to defeat it, with a margin of 253 votes to 218.

On the other motion introduced by the Trinamool Congress requesting the cancellation of modification of FEMA rules, the UPA again won. 254 members voted against the motion while 224 members voted in favour.

Those who voted with the government included the Congress (206), the NCP (9), the DMK (18), the RLD (5), the NC (3), the RJD (4) and others (8). Those who voted against the government included the NDA (150 - 2 MPs of JMM), the Left (20), the AIADMK (9), the TMC (19 - 1 = 18), the BJD (14), the JD(S) (3), the JVM (2 - 1 = 1), the TDP (6).

Of those who were absent during the vote included Babulal Marandi of the JVM, the two MPs of JMM, TMC MP Kabir Suman and Asad Owaisi of MIM. What strengthened the UPA further was the walkout by the SP (22 MPs) and the BSP (21 MPs), both of whom had been anti-FDI.

Previous Comments