ibnlive » Football

Greece drop Tziolis, Kone from Euro 2012 squad

Associated Press
May 29, 2012 at 02:23pm IST

Athens: Greece coach Fernando Santos dropped midfielders Alexandros Tziolis and Panagiotis Kone from his final 23-player squad for the European Championship on Monday.

Santos announced the move after both players had competed in a warm-up game against Slovenia on Saturday. The match ended in a 1-1 draw and was held in Kufstein, Austria, near Greece's pre-tournament training camp.

Kone, who plays for Bologna, had been widely expected to be cut after he hit a Slovenia player during injury time and was sent off.

Greece drop Tziolis, Kone from Euro 2012 squad

Kone had been widely expected to be cut after he hit a Slovenia player during injury time in the friendly on Saturday.

Greece, the 2004 champions, were drawn with co-hosts Poland, Russia and the Czech Republic in Group A for the June 8 to July 1 tournament.

Greece were unbeaten in topping their qualifying group, winning seven of 10 matches and relegating Croatia to the play-offs.

AEK Athens striker Nikos Lymberopoulos is in the squad after scoring seven Greek league goals. The 36-year-old joins Georgios Samaras in attack, with the Celtic player having kept his place despite scoring just once in eight qualifiers.

"We've had problems developing our attacks. We need to keep possession more and be patient," Santos said after Saturday's match. "What happened with Kone is a shame. Sometimes in the heat of the match we lose our minds."

Greece play Armenia in a friendly on Thursday before heading to Poland.


Goalkeepers: Costas Chalkias (PAOK), Michalis Sifakis (Aris), Alexandros Tzorvas (Palermo).

Defenders: Vassilis Torosidis (Olympiakos), Sokratis Papastathopoulos (Werder Bremen), Avraam Papadopoulos (Olympiakos), Jose Holebas (Olympiakos), Stelios Malezas (PAOK), Giorgos Tzavelas (Monaco), Yiannis Maniatis (Olympiakos), Kyriakos Papadopoulos (Schalke).

Midfielders: Giorgos Karagounis (Panathinaikos), Costas Katsouranis (Panathinaikos), Giorgos Fotakis (PAOK), Costas Fortounis (Kaiserslautern), Yiannis Fetfatzidis (Olympiakos), Sotiris Ninis (Panathinaikos), Grigoris Makos (AEK Athens).

Strikers: Georgios Samaras (Celtic), Dimitris Salpigidis (PAOK), Costas Mitroglou (Atromitos), Nikos Lymberopoulos (AEK Athens), Fanis Gekas (Samsunspor).


More from this section

PREVIOUS  Hazard finally decides, set to join Chelsea

NEXT  Ukraine beat Estonia 4-0 in Euro warm-up