ibnlive » Sports

Sep 27, 2012 at 11:39am IST

Haryana through to the quarter-finals in senior men's National Hockey

Bangalore: Defending champions Haryana drew 2-2 with Maharashtra to confirm their entry into the quarter-finals of the senior Men's National Hockey championship here Wednesday.

Haryana, who won their previous three league matches, thus topped Pool A with an unbeaten record. India stars Bharat Chikkara and Sardar Singh scored for Haryana while Maharashtra replied through Narad Bahadur and Irshad Mirza.

In Pool H, Association of Combined Universities, courtesy a last-gasp goal by Gurpreet Singh, drew 1-1 with Bihar while Sashastra Seema Dal opened their campaign with a 16-0 drubbing of Goa, with Kishore Lakra scoring four goals.

Haryana through to senior National Hockey QF

Holders Haryana topped Pool A after a 2-2 draw against Maharashtra on Wednesday.

Hosts Karnataka romped to a 21-0 win against Mizoram in a meaningless Pool B match that only showed up the huge disparity among teams.


Pool A: Haryana 2 (Bharat Chhikkara 1, Sardar Singh 1) drew with Maharashtra 2 (Narad Bahadur 1, Irshad Mirza 1).

Group B: Delhi 5 (Avatar Singh Mann 1, Pawan Singh Chouhan 2, Abhishek 1, Mohit 1) beat Himachal Pradesh 3 (Rajesh Kumar 1, Sarabjit Singh 1, Balram Kumar 1).

Karnataka 21 (K Laldintluanga (OG), SK Uthappa 3, Mohan Muthana 5, MK Mudappa 7, Somana KM 2, PL?Thimmanna 1, MB?Aiyappa 1, Nikin Thimmaiah 1) beat Mizoram 0.

Group D: Sashastra Seema Bal 14 (Pradeep Kumar Singh 3, Kishore Lakra 4, Ajit Singh 2, Joychandra Singh 1, Surchandra Singh 1, L Suresh Singh 1, Noacha Singh 1, Romi Kumar Singh 1) beat Goa 0.

Pool H: Manipur 16 (Jayant Kumar 4, Chittaranjan Singh 3, Ganbama 2, Romen Singh 2, Hera Singh 1, Amarjit Singh 1, Kiran Kumar Singh 1, Abung Singh 1, Dayananda Singh 1) beat Andaman and Nicobar 0.

Bihar 1 (Mohd Riazuddin 1) drew with Association of Indian Universities 1 (Gurpreet Singh 1).