ibnlive » Cricketnext

Has ball changing cost Aleem Dar Champions Trophy final?

IANS
Jun 22, 2013 at 08:08pm IST

Birmingham: Aleem Dar has apparently lost the opportunity of officiating Sunday's Champions Trophy final after his role in the changing the ball during England's defeat to Sri Lanka at the group stage.

The three-time ICC's best umpire of the year has been demoted to the fourth umpire's position for the title clash between India and England here at Edgbaston.

ALSO SEE Willis ball-tampering allegations sadden Anderson

The Pakistani angered England after he changed the ball, leading to speculation of ball tampering.

Has ball changing cost Aleem Dar Champions Trophy final?

The three-time ICC's best umpire of the year has been demoted to the fourth umpire's position for the title clash between India and England at Edgbaston.

Kumar Dharmasena and Rod Tucker will be the on-field umpires on Sunday and will be closely monitoring the condition of the balls while with Bruce Oxenford will be the third umpire. Ranjan Madugalle will be the match referee.

ALSO SEE England deny Bob Willis ball-tampering claims

Latest

More from this section

PREVIOUS  India favourites but we are keen to set record straight: Cook

NEXT  Dhoni predicts entertaining Champions Trophy final