ibnlive » South » Kerala

Jun 28, 2012 at 11:27am IST

Kerala: VS faction consolidates position in Ernakulam

Kochi: Once again the VS faction maintained an upper hand in the CPM Ernakulam district secretariat. Two leaders involved in the controversial spy camera episode - T K Mohanan and M P Pathrose - again found a place in the secretariat. The crucial district committee meet, held on Wednesday in the presence of state secretary Pinarayi Vijayan, had no option but to include two more VS loyalists in the secretariat.

With this, the VS faction has eight members in the secretariat. Among the three new members, P R Muraleedharan and C B Devadarsanan owe allegiance to Achuthanandan while C K Manishankar is known to be close to the Pinarayi faction. The 40-member district committee has now 23 VS loyalists. The action taken by the state committee against former secretary Gopi Kottamurickal and two others - K A Chackochan and P S Mohanan, were reported in the meeting.

However, the three did not attend the meeting as district secretary M V Govindan had asked them not to appear. Though there were demands to set up a commission to probe into the allegations raised by Kottamurickal against two state committee members, K Chandran Pillai and S Sarma, and central committee member M C Josephine, the district committee has not taken any decision in this regard, it is learnt.

Kerala: VS faction consolidates position

Once again the VS faction maintained an upper hand in the CPM Ernakulam district secretariat.

Though the existing district committee was formed in January, the reconstitution of the secretariat was delayed due to various reasons. There were allegations that the delay was part of a game plan by the official faction to bring in their loyalists.

Following the spy camera episode, the functioning of the party district secretariat was suspended. The state secretariat of the party had taken over its charge.