ibnlive » India

Jun 14, 2014 at 09:24am IST

Narendra Modi takes oath as India's 15th PM: As the day unfolded

Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi has been sworn in as the 15th Prime Minister of India. Modi along with his Cabinet took oath at the Rashtrapati Bhawan at 6 PM. Around 3,500 Indian and foreign dignitaries attended the ceremony, including leaders from all the seven SAARC nations.

Live coverage

(Content below is refreshed only when page is reloaded.)

8:44 pm: US President Barack Obama today congratulated Narendra Modi on being sworn in as India's 15th Prime Minister and said he looks forward to working with the new leader to strengthen the strategic partnership.

8:43 pm: Smriti Irani: I can only discuss in detail once responsibilities are given to me. I come from a middle class family. I had no idea that I would get to serve the country. I thank Modiji and Rajnathji.

8:42 pm: Najma Heptullah: I am glad that women have been represented well in the Cabinet. It's a balanced Cabinet. There are women and tribal leaders. Modi's action shows he means business. There is a lot of responsibility. I am not a minority but I am a woman. Muslims aren't a minority.

8:40 pm: Rajnath Singh: I am grateful to all of you for your support and good wishes. Let us work together to realise the dream of 'Ek Bharat, Shreshtha Bharat'.

8:39 pm: Ananth Kumar: People are hopeful that Mr Modi will give good governance. After taking oath I am feeling very responsible.

8:36 pm: 

8:35 pm: Ram Vilas Paswan: Our only aim is to serve the poor and fulfill the promises made by Narendra Modi.

8:34 pm: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan: This is the beginning of a new era. This will be an era of development and welfare. The country will go ahead.

8:25 pm: The Parliamentary Affairs Minister takes charge tomorrow at 9.30 am.

8:25 pm: Sadananda Gowda: Whatever responsibility will be given by PM Narendra Modi, I will do it to my best capacity. My portfolio has not yet been allotted.

8:20 pm: Aam Admi Party tweets its congratulations to Narendra Modi on his becoming Prime Minister: We wish you all the best to fulfill the expectations people have from you.

8:15 pm: Chinese Prime Minister congratulates Narendra Modi, vows to take ties to a new level. Premier Li Keqiang today said China views India as a "natural cooperative partner".

7:54 pm: PM's message on his website: I seek support and participation of people. Together we will script a glorious future for India. This website is an important medium of direct communication between us. I believe in power of technology & social media to communicate with people across the world.

7:50 pm: Prime Minister's message to nation: The people have delivered a mandate for development, good governance and stability.

7:44 pm: Narendra Modi, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari, Venkaiah Naidu and Rajnath Singh to stay back for President's dinner tonight.

7:43 pm: Narendra Modi unlikely to move into Prime Minister's official residence at 7, Race Course Road tonight. He will be staying at Gujarat Bhavan for the next two days.

7:39 pm: 

7:39 pm: 

7:38 pm: 

7:38 pm: 

7:32 pm: 

7:28 pm: Narendra Modi's government stands at a total of 46 members, including cabinet ministers and ministers of state.

7:27 pm: 

7:26 pm: Sudarshan Bhagat takes oath as minister of state. He represents Lohardaga in Jharkhand.

7:26 pm: 

7:25 pm: Vishnu Dev Sai takes oath as minister of state. He is MP from Raigarh, Chhattisgarh.

7:25 pm: 

7:24 pm: 

7:24 pm: Raosaheb D P Danve takes oath as minister of state. He is four-time MP from Jalna in Maharashtra.

7:22 pm: Mansukhbhai Vasava takes oath as minister of state. He is the only other MP from Gujarat after Modi to be in the new government.

7:22 pm: 

7:21 pm: 

7:21 pm: Sanjeev Baliyan takes oath as minister of state. The MP from Muzaffarnagar has an FIR against him in connection with the Muzaffarnagar riots of last year.

7:20 pm: 

7:19 pm: 

7:19 pm: K P Gujjar takes oath as minister of state. He is BJP MP from Faridabad and was the party's state unit president till 2013.

7:17 pm: Kiren Rijiju, MP from Arunachal Pradesh, takes oath as minister of state. He is one of the youngest ministers in the new government,

7:16 pm: P Radhakrishnan takes oath as minister of state. He is the sole BJP winner from Tamil Nadu.

7:15 pm: 

7:15 pm: Upendra Kushwaha of the RLSP takes oath as minister of state. He is MP from Bihar.

7:14 pm: 

7:14 pm: Nihal Chand takes oath as minister of state. He is the only MP in the new government from Rajasthan.

7:12 pm: 

7:12 pm: Manoj Sinha, MP from Ghazipur, Uttar Pradesh, takes oath as minister of state.

7:10 pm: 

  • 0
  • 1
  • 9