ibnlive » Politics » News

Mar 21, 2013 at 03:06am IST

Manmohan Singh accepts DMK ministers' resignations

New Delhi: Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Wednesday accepted the resignations of five DMK ministers and forwarded them to President Pranab Mukherjee.

Cabinet Minister SK Jena has been given additional charge of the chemical and fertilizers portfolio earlier held by DMK's MK Alagiri. The other four ministers were ministers of state.

"The resignations have been accepted by the prime minister and sent to the president," an official from the Prime Minister's Office told IANS.

PM accepts DMK ministers' resignations

Five Union ministers of the DMK, including party patriarch M Karunanidhi's son, MK Alagiri, submitted their resignations to the PM on Wednesday.

The DMK on Tuesday quit the UPA government after accusing it of going soft on Colombo over the killing of Tamil civilians by the Sri Lankan military during the closing stages of the war against the Tamil Tigers.