ibnlive » India

Dec 26, 2012 at 02:25pm IST

Narendra Modi sworn in as Gujarat Chief Minister for third time in a row

Ahmedabad: Narendra Modi on Wednesday took oath as Gujarat's chief minister for the fourth time after leading his party the Bharatiya Janata Party to a sweeping win in Assembly elections. This will be Modi's third consecutive stint as the Gujarat chief minister.

The swearing-in ceremony of Modi at Sardar Patel stadium in Ahmedabad was attended by top BJP leaders, many celebrities and politicians. Thousands of his supporters also gathered at the stadium to see Modi taking the oath. Heavy security arrangements were made for the grand function.

Chief Ministers of many BJP-ruled and non-BJP ruled states also attended the ceremony. Jayalalithaa was one of the prominent non-BJP chief minister persent at the ceremony. Modi, who maintains a good rapport with the AIADMK chief, had also attended her swearing-in ceremony after her party swept back to power in Assembly election in Tamil Nadu in 2011.

Among the celebrities, actors Vivek Oberoi and Kiran Kher, and Sahara Group chairman Subrata Roy reached the stadium to witness Modi taking oath as the Gujarat chief minister.