Jan 22, 2014 at 10:53pm IST

Poll tracker: Modi wave in West India gives BJP the lead, Cong trails

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has pulled ahead of the Congress following its superlative performance in West and Central India. The Narendra Modi-led party is likely to emerge as the single largest unit after the next Lok Sabha elections as it is expected to sweep Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and score a big win in Maharashtra.

But the surveys of East, South and West/Central India show regional and smaller parties winning the largest number of seats and they could hold the key to the next government formation.

ALSO SEE Gujarat poll tracker: Narendra Modi-led BJP to win 20-25 seats, Congress 1-4

Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, West Bengal, Bihar and Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala together account for 335 Lok Sabha seats. If we combine the above states, the BJP seems to have the huge lead as per the Lokniti-IBN National Tracker poll in the western and central regions of the country where the Narendra Modi wave is sweeping the political landscape.

Adding up the seat projections of East, South, West/Central India as provided by Chennai Mathematical Institute's Director Professor Rajeeva Karandikar, regional/smaller parties seems to be holding the ace in the Lok Sabha elections as they are likely to win 107-195 seats.

ALSO SEE Madhya Pradesh election tracker: BJP to win 23-27 seats, Congress 2-5

With Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra going to the BJP, the party is expected to win 90-125 seats from the three regions of the country while the Congress tally is likely to be 50-101. It clearly shows that if Narendra Modi wants to become the PM, the BJP will have to sweep North India.

As expected the BJP is doing extremely well in Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Maharashtra (with its allies Shiva Sena and Republican Party of India (Athvale)) and is a major player in Karnataka. But it has a very small footprint Odisha, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh. The party is almost non-existent in Kerala.

ALSO SEE Maharashtra poll tracker: BJP-SS to win 25-33 seats, Congress-NCP 12-20

Another national party the Congress is not doing well in most of the states with only Karnataka and Kerala giving it thumbs up. Most of the states have a strong regional party who are likely to play a crucial role in government formation after the next Lok Sabha elections.

For Jharkhand and Assam, both with 14 Lok Sabha MPs each, and Chhattisgarh 11 there is no seat projection due to the small sample size. While the BJP is likely to get 40 per cent of the votes in Jharkhand and 50 per cent in Chhattisgarh to lead its rivals by a huge margin, in Assam it is the Congress which will get 47 per cent of the votes per the Lokniti-IBN National Tracker poll.

ALSO SEE Chhattisgarh poll tracker: BJP to get 50 per cent votes, Congress 34

Total 335 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Bihar, West Bengal, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala (Region wise combined projected seats):

Bharatiya Janata Party+Shiv Sena: 90-125

Congress+NCP: 50-101 (Includes UDF's projected tally in Kerala)

Janata Dal United (JDU): 7-13

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD): 6-10

Trinamool Congress (TMC): 20-28

Left Front: 9-21 (Includes LDF's projected tally in Kerala)

Biju Janata Dal (BJD): 10-16

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS): 4-8

YSR Congress Party (YSRCP): 11-19

Telugu Desam Party (TDP): 9-15

Janata Dal Secular (JDS): 4-8

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK): 15-23

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK): 7-13

Others: 5-21

Projected seats state wise (January 2014)

Gujarat (26)

BJP: 20-25

Congress: 1-4

Others: 0-2

Madhya Pradesh (29)

BJP: 23-27

Congress: 2-5

Maharashtra (48)

Congress+NCP: 12-20

BJP+Shiv Sena: 25-33

Others: 1-5

Bihar (40)

BJP: 16-24

JDU: 7-13

RJD: 6-10

Congress: 0-4

Odisha (21)

BJD: 10-16

Congress: 3-9

BJP: 0-4

West Bengal (42)

TMC: 20-28

Left Front: 7-13

Congress: 5-9

BJP: 0-2

Andhra Pradesh (42)

YSR Congress Party: 11-19

TDP: 9-15

Congress: 5-9

TRS: 4-8

Others: 0-4

Karnataka (28)

Congress: 10-18

BJP: 6-10

JDS: 4-8

Tamil Nadu (39)

AIADMK: 15-23

DMK: 7-13

Congress: 1-5

Others: 4-10

Kerala (20)

UDF: 12-18

LDF: 2-8