Jun 24, 2011 at 02:31pm IST

Ramesh Narayans Musical Programme on June 25

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: In connection with the ‘Gurupoornima’, which falls on July 16, Pandit Motiram Narayan Sangeeth Vidyalay, run by Pandit Ramesh Narayan, will hold a day-long musical celebration at Hotel Pankaj on Saturday. The programme will begin at 8.30 am and wind up at 10 pm.
Uthradom Thirunal Marthanda Varma will inaugurate the fete at Anantha Hall of the hotel. The morning session will have ‘gurupooja’ - traditional ‘swarmalika’ rendering of Mewati gharana by Ramesh Narayan and his disciples. This will be followed by a ‘bandish’ offering by the students of the school. The afternoon session, which will begin at 2 pm, will feature musical offerings by talented singers.
 A highlight of the day will be special honour given to renowned classical musician Dr T V Gopalakrishnan. Tabla exponent Pandit Ramkumar Mishra of Benares gharana, veteran musician Perumbavoor G Ravindranath, Soorya Krishnamoorthy and Prof Manohar Keskar will be among those who will offer felicitations at the function. There will be musical presentations by T V Gopalakrishnan and Pandit Ramkumar Mishra. Promoters of Indian classical arts Dr Retnakumar, founder chairman of Bhavalaya, Muscat; and Srihari of Naimisharanyam, Kannur, will be felicitated at the event. The day’s events will conclude with a performance by Pandit Ramesh Narayan.
 It is the 16th Gurupoornima celebrations being organised by the school, which has been holding similar functions in Kochi and Kozhikode as well. The school was inaugurated in 1996 by Pandit Jasraj, guru of Pandit Ramesh Narayan.
‘Madhuvanti Sandhya’
Pandit Motiram Narayan Sangeeth Vidyalay and Vyloppilli Samskrithi Bhavan will jointly organise a musical evening on Sunday which will feature a solo tabla concert by Pandit Ramkumar Mishra, Hindustani concert by T V Gopalakrishnan, ghazal concert by Madhuvanti Narayan and Madhusree Narayan, vocal concerts by Vinay Ramdas (Pune) and Mohan Kumar and a concert by Pandit Ramesh Narayan.
The programme will commence at 3 pm.