ibnlive » Politics » News

WB polls: Voters demolish Left leadership

May 13, 2011 at 05:08pm IST

Kolkata: As the Trinamool Congress-Congress combine heads for a landslide win in West Bengal on Friday, most of the Left stalwarts lost their seats as angry voters punished leaders of the world's longest ruling elected Communist government for non-performance.

After seven straight victories, the Left Front government in West Bengal on Friday came crumbling down, unable to withstand the 'paribartan' (wave for change) of the Trinamool Congress.

Chief Minister and spearhead of the Left Front, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee lost from his stronghold Jadavpur coinstituency to Manish Gupta of the All India Trinamool Congress by over 16000 votes. He tendered his resignation earlier in the day.

WB polls: Voters demolish Left leadership

Angry voters punish leaders of the world's longest ruling elected Communist government.

In a major upset for the Left, Bratya Basu of the All India Trinamool Congress defeated housing minister and the star campaigner for the Left Gautam Deb by a margin of 31497 in the Dum Dum constituency.

West Bengal Industry minister and CPI-M politburo member Nirupam Sen was defeated by Trinamool Congress candidate Rabiranjan Chattopadhyay by a margin of more than 36,438 votes in Burdwan South seat.

Finance Minister Asim Dasgupta lost to Amit Mitra of TMC by 26154 votes in Khardah.

Of the other major upsets, IT Minister Debesh Das was defeated by Swarnakamal Saha of TMC by 24996 votes in Entally, while Sunderbans Development Minister Kanti Ganguly is trailing TMC's star campaigner Debasree Roy in Raidighi.

Agriculture Minister Naren Dey of Forward Bloc lost to Asit Majumder of TMC by 44592 votes in Chinsurah.

Trinamool Congress leader Partha Chatterjee, the Leader of the Opposition in the outgoing Assembly won against Anupam Debsarkar of CPI(M) by 59021 votes.


More from this section

PREVIOUS  Analysis: Loss for Cong as third parties emerge

NEXT  Mamata: From rabble rouser to Chief Minister