ibnlive » India

Apr 04, 2011 at 01:09pm IST

Dhoni's team gets 60 times more than Kapil's

New Delhi: It's raining rewards for the winning squad. Not only a 10 million largesse from BCCI, state governments are also queuing up to shower the cricketers with big money. Rajasthan has announced a complimentary trip on "Palace On wheels" for all the players.

Kapil Dev and MS Dhoni have led Team India in contrasting styles, but the end result has been the same - the ICC cricket World Cup. Since Dhoni hit the winning six, accolades both in cash and kind, for him and his team-mates have kept pouring in, apart from the winning cheque.

BCCI has announced Rs 1 crore for each player, Delhi Rs 2 crore for Dhoni and Rs 1 crore each for four Delhi players - Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli and Ashish Nehra.

Gujarat government has announced its highest sports honour Eklavya Award for Yousuf Pathan and Munaf Patel.

Uttrakhand government to grace Dhoni with "Uttrakhand Ratna" award Punjab government announces Rs one crore to Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh each.

Mamata Banerjee has awarded a lifetime free 1st AC pass to all the team India members, while Jharkhand wants Dhoni to establish a cricket academy in the state.

Narendra Modi, Chief Minister, Gujarat said “the players of the Indian team have done us proud.”

Delhi’s Chief Minister, Sheila Dikshit is also delighted by team India’s triumph and said “the entire nation is rejoicing with this victory.”

Stakes in the game have changed beyond comparison since Kapil's daredevils brought home the cup in 1983 and the prize money then in today's conversion rate was just Rs 14 lakh. On Saturday team India won sixty times that amount by lifting the cup. Mohinder Amarnath collected just 600 pounds as the man of the match in the 1983 finals.

Madan Lal, 1983 WC Squad said "in 1983 nobody given us any chances to even win one or two matches but we won the World Cup."

Stakes and the moolah associated with cricket has grown exponentially over the years, but the addiction and the love for the game today for the sixth of the world remains as it was in 1983.

(With Bureau inputs)

Previous Comments