ibnlive » Politics

Sep 09, 2009 at 01:57pm IST

Why ex-ministers don't vacate their bunglows

New Delhi: An RTI information has revealed the names of 15 former MPs and ministers who have not vacated their palatial government bunglows in spite of their terms coming to an end.

The outspoken Renuka Chaudhary is lying low after losing the Lok Sabha elections. But she isn't budging from her bungalow at 76 Lodhi Estate in Delhi.

The one month grace period given to former MPs to vacate their official homes is also over but Renuka and several other ex-MPs are yet to vacate their bunglows.

CNN-IBN went verifying the illegal occupation of nine such ex-ministers.

Sonia Gandhi's once powerful neighbour, Ram Vilas Paswan who is another shock loser from the General Elections, is still clinging to his 12 Janpath bungalow.

Former Panchayati Raj Minister Mani Shankar Iyer continues to stay at 14 Akbar Road.

"These little slips take place for those who are coming in as well as those who go out," said Iyer," says Iyer.

Urban Development Minister Jaipal Reddy is, too, polite to evict his high-profile tenants

"A lot of people are vacating although sometimes they take their own time. But I can tell you it is much quicker than it has been in the past," he says.

Actor turned politician Vinod Khanna is no more an MP, but refuses to give up his 8 Purana Qila Road residence. Jagdish Tytler denied a ticket for his alleged role in the '84 anti-Sikh riots is another offender

The politicians know they are in the wrong, which explains the anger when asked why they were occupying government property.

"Why should I tell you the reason? Who are you?" asks former Union minister Akhilesh Prasad Singh, who is also not vacating his official bunglow.